Location   

Category: Main > Events > Webinars
<< Previous  Next >>
WoodWorks Four-Part Webinar Series for Engineers 
Listing ID: 2407
$60,647 USD
[  Seller Info ]

  Classified         Number of Times Viewed: 766

TerryMalone-WebinarSeries-Feb2020.png

This month we’re offering a special 4-part webinar series on the analysis of open-front or corridor-only shear wall diaphragms, which are essential for modern building designs that often include more glass, larger openings, and greater height than buildings in the past.

Join us Tuesdays & Thursdays from Feb 4 to Feb 13: 10 am Pacific, 11 am Mountain, 12 pm Central, 1 pm Eastern

 

Part 1 / Feb 4 – The series kicks off with a look at code requirements and relative stiffness issues associated with cantilever diaphragms in wood structures. Traditionally, wood-frame diaphragms are designed as flexible, meaning that shear forces are transferred to vertical-resisting systems based on tributary widths. However, cantilever diaphragms are required to be analyzed as semi-rigid or rigid, where distribution of shear forces is a function of relative stiffness of the supporting walls rather than tributary widths. This webinar will introduce unique conditions often found in structures that utilize cantilever diaphragms, including increased building heights, multi-story shear wall effects, and torsional irregularities. Current and future code provisions relative to cantilever wood diaphragms will also be discussed. Get the details and register for Part 1

Part 1 sets the stage for the rest of the series:

Part 2 / Feb 6 – Shear Wall Design in Cantilever Diaphragm Structures – Details / Register

Part 3 / Feb 11 – Cantilever Diaphragm Design, Flexibility Check, and Drift Calculations – Details / Register

Part 4 / Feb 13 – Torsional Irregularity and Design Example Checks of an Open Front Building – Details / Register

 

Speaker:

Terry Malone, PE, SE, WoodWorks

Terry is a licensed structural engineer in Washington, Oregon and Arizona. Prior to joining WoodWorks, he was a principal in consulting structural engineering firms in Washington and Oregon, conducted third-party structural plan reviews and has served as a faculty member at St. Martin’s College in Lacey, Washington. Terry has over 35 years of wood design experience and has taken an active role as a presenter providing seminars at state and local ICC chapters and professional engineering organizations. Terry is author of The Analysis of Irregular Shaped Structures: Diaphragms and Shear Walls, published by McGraw-Hill and ICC. He is a member of the Structural Engineers’ Association of Arizona and the International Code Council.

 

Price: $60,647 USD
Listing ID: 2407
  • Event start date:
  • February 4, 2020
  • Event end date:
  • February 13, 2020
WW WPC

 Public Questions / Answers - Login Required

No questions have been posted about this listing.
<< Previous  Next >>