Chuck Roady and five others appointed to Softwood Lumber Board

Chuck Roady and five others appointed to Softwood Lumber BoardAgriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has appointed six members to serve on the Softwood Lumber Board. Members will serve a three-year term of office beginning Jan. 1, 2014.

New appointments include manufacturers Charles W. Roady, Columbia Falls, Mont., and Danny White, Brewton, Ala., representing the U.S. West and South regions, respectively; and importer Don Kayne, BC, Canada, who will represent the Canada West region.

Manufacturers Aubra Anthony, Jr., El Dorado, Ark., and Alden J. Robbins, Searsmont, Maine, have been reappointed to represent the U.S. South, and Northeast and Lake States regions, respectively. Francisco Figueroa, Atlanta, Ga., has also been reappointed to represent all importing countries besides Canada.

Research and promotion programs are industry-funded, authorized by Congress, and date back to 1966. Since then, Congress has authorized the establishment of 20 research and promotion boards. They empower agricultural industries, including the forest products industry, by establishing a framework for them to pool resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets, and conduct important research and promotion activities. The Agricultural Marketing Service provides oversight, helping to ensure fiscal responsibility, program efficiency and fair treatment of participating stakeholders. Visit to learn more about research and promotion programs.

Speak Your Mind